~My fabulously Random Blog~

A little about me, my family, my faith, and food !

Nose Dives & Nachos February 17, 2011

Filed under: Food,Life — silimommy @ 9:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

Well today took a huge nose dive around 3 o’clock when I got a call from my hubby letting me know he had to work late (until 8 pm- thus making his work day 14 hrs). That wasn’t all, he also let me know he has to work on Saturday too which really stinks because we are supposed to be going to our niece’s 2nd birthday party. Now I will have to get up @ 5 am two days in a row (tomorrow and Saturday) so that I can take him to work and have the car to go on our meetup outing tomorrow, and Saturday to go to our niece’s party. {Grrrr}….. Have I mentioned that I am NOT a morning person?…. I can’t wait until we get a second car….

Speaking of stinking, don’t you hate the way you smell after you eat in an ethnic restaurant? Like Mexican, for example.

Well tonight I wanted to make my sweetie his favorite meal, Nachos, but I didn’t have everything I normally use… Actually, I didn’t have anything I normally use, but did I let that stop me? NO WAY! My baby worked hard and I wanted to feed him good! I also wanted to make it healthy and vegetarian for me to eat. So this was my little creation!

Yummy vegetarian version of nachos!

Don’t those just look delish! Well here is how it’s done 😉

What you need:

  • 1 can of pinto beans (drained)
  • 2 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (or 2 Roma tomatoes diced)
  • 1/2 of an onion chopped
  • 2 small/medium jalapeno chopped (some seeds removed for less heat)
  • 2 tbsp EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
  • 2 Tbsp cumin (or 2 palmfulls)
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder (or 1 palmfull)

In a sauce pan heat the EVOO over med/high, add the onion, jalapeno and garlic. Sautee until the onion is translucent then add the beans, mashing to the consistency you like. After you have the beans mashed add the tomatoes and spices. Let simmer until heated throughout. Plate on some corn chips eat and enjoy!!! Oh I topped mine with a slice of pepper jack cheese 🙂

Calories/Serving: 370

For Joseph I added some ground turkey cooked with taco seasoning bringing the calorie content up for his to 620 calories (with the cheese). Not bad at all for nachos!

Hope you enjoy this!

Toodles!!!

 

Leave a Reply

