~My fabulously Random Blog~

A little about me, my family, my faith, and food !

Understanding… February 24, 2011

Filed under: Exercise,Faith,Food — silimommy @ 2:14 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I am beginning to try to understand myself, to accept who I am, not as a person. I already know and like the inside me, it’s the outside that I have never gotten along with. When I look in the mirror I see every flaw, every lump or bump or bulge. I always have, even at my smallest I was never happy with my size. And no surprise that after gaining 15 lbs after getting married and 50 lbs during my pregnancy, I hate the outside more than ever… even though I am back down to my pre-pregnancy size my shape has not exactly recovered (I’m prepared that it may not completely). Then again I didn’t like my shape when I was small, so…

This is where the beginning is. Trying to accept that I may not have what it takes genetically to be a “skinny girl”. I once thought this is what mattered, but with having a child this view, along with everything else, has changed. Now I am ready (emotionally) to be more accepting of myself, to take responsibility, and leadership in my own health (health being the key word). I’m sure there will always be some desire to be thinner (what American girl in this messed up generation doesn’t), but now it’s more about being the best me possible. Leading a healthy lifestyle to lay an example for my daughter, so that one day she will be able to look at herself in the mirror and think “I look good”, “I love me”! This honestly brings me to tears… I pray that I can set that example for her. So she will know she is beautiful, valuable and most importantly that she will know that God made her perfectly!

These aren’t just words that we teach our children they are actions that we must live out loud.

Having said all of that, and completely and totally opening myself up to you, this is my plan:

  • Eat the healthiest foods possible, and feed my

    family the healthiest food possible.

  • Exercise daily, for at least 45 minutes

            (Sundays may be an off day, not sure yet)

  • Get my family involved in our meal planning and exercising.

{I also am starting to think about monitoring my calories more closely, I’m not sure that I am hitting the right range having stopped eating meat.}

I know this is going to be tough to do because I am the type of person who becomes obsessive over things (A perfectionist?). I am the most scared about monitoring calories… I have been known to bawl my eyes out if I don’t know how many are in something I want… embarrassing, but true (sadly).

So here is my official call to all of you to do the same. Maybe you’re where you want to be, maybe you just want to tone up or start exercising. Maybe like me you want to lose 15-20 lbs. No matter what your goal is you will never reach it if you don’t try! So I am encouraging you to try! You might just surprise yourself!

 

My scripture verse to keep me centered in this quest will be Psalm 139:14

I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well. (NKJV)

Be Healthy, Be Happy!

 

2 Responses to “Understanding…”

  1. Howdy reading this web page was indeed very pleasurable , issues like this highlights whoever visits this page:/


Leave a Reply

