~My fabulously Random Blog~

A little about me, my family, my faith, and food !

The Magic of Food, Family & Love! March 11, 2011

Filed under: Family,Food,Fun,Life,Love,Uncategorized — silimommy @ 12:47 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday was a day from down under… and I’m not talking about Australia. It was one of those days when you wake up and feel awful and it just keeps getting worse.

Ana whined and I cried…This was our pattern for the day

I cried because I wasn’t feeling good, because I felt like I didn’t have anyone close by me (which I don’t), because I have been sick and just wanted a break. I cried because my house was (and still is) a wreck, because I don’t know anyone here, because I just felt like crying… See the pattern here? I, I, I, I, I…. Whaa, Whaaa, Whaaa! I was feeling sorry for myself, and a little depressed too. {Don’t judge me, you know you’ve done it too.}

After a while I managed to pull out of it a little (thanks to a sweet friend and sister in Christ, whom I called on for prayer). Somewhere around 1:30 pm I finally gout out of my pj’s, took a shower, and even blow dried my hair! (No small undertaking).

When my hubby got home he gave me a big hug, which always makes me feel better! He even said he was going to take me out (or should I say us, since we don’t have anyone to watch Ana)!… YAY YAY YAY YAY!!! This meant I was actually getting out of the house! Despite all of this the bad energy was still flowing, but the evening kept getting better, as did my mood.

Joseph was going to take me out, and to make it even better we were going downtown! My favorite place to go! 🙂

My Town!

I love this place! It just feels like home!

Joseph wanted to try a new restaurant, one that I had already been to and raved about! THE LAZY GOAT!!!!!

On our little 10 minute drive downtown Ana fell into a deep sleep! (Her only nap of the day at 4:30, turned out to be the best baby-sitter we could have asked for!) She actually slept through most of our meal!

About the restaurant:

The Lazy Goat is an eclectic, tapas style restaurant, specializing in Mediterranean cuisine. It is fab! {lol}

Our view to the left... a fun clock wall!

The view to my right... beauty!

A little further down the river...

A little further to the right...

 

This place is so much fun! As Ana’s slumber continued Joseph and I talked and laughed, and ATE!!! 🙂

As we sat and talked we couldn’t help but be taken in by this beautiful city that we now call home. We talked about why we love it here… the classy business people, the funky artistic edge, the outdoorsy-ness (yes it’s a word… now), how family friendly it is (note the family out for a stroll in the above picture). We love the character, and culture this city has to offer. Most of all we love that it’s perfect for us!

…back to the eating part!… We ordered a smorgasbord of yummy tapas!
 
Sorry… I forgot to snap before we dug in! 😉
 

This is the last of our delicious Fried Goat Cheese! These were warm, little pieces of heaven, deep-fried, dusted with ground pistachios and drizzled with honey!!!! 

Oh My Word!!!

 

Here we have the rest of our meal!

 Mediterranean Pimento Cheese (it will blow your mind!), is made with feta cheese and served with warm bread; Even Lazier Paella (in the molcajete), is a dish of roasted chicken, house made chorizo sausage, “bomba” rice,and sofrito broth; and Toasted Garlic Shrimp which features blistered tomatoes, feta, ouzo and arugula tossed with the best tasting shrimp you will ever eat!

Ana did eventually wake up and she was in a much better mood, as was I, she even ate… She actually devoured the rest of our Mediterranean pimento cheese! 

Our bellies were full and we were all ready to head home and finish out this great evening with some relaxation!

 

Leave a Reply

