~My fabulously Random Blog~

A little about me, my family, my faith, and food !

Shopping & Savings March 30, 2011

Filed under: Family,Food,Life — silimommy @ 2:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I took my husband on a trip to the local Whole Foods (another of our favorite groceries). We shop there a couple of times a month, but I don’t go there for a lot of my groceries because they are… well, expensive.

Yesterday was a different story. I went in with the mind-set of shopping on a budget! What I mean by that is, I was paying closer attention to prices and comparing value/using coupons!

With that being said I came out with more bang for my buck!

{* =sale, + =coupon, WF= Whole Foods}

  • 1 lb ground white turkey
  • 1 lb ground dark meat turkey
  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 1/2 pt. blueberries
  • Ezekiel Cinnamon Rasin Bread
  • WF Organic tomato basil pasta sauce
  • 2 large lemons*
  • Organic Italian cheese+
  • Sour Cream+
  • Chiobani Greek Yogurt+
  • Fire Roasted tomatoes+
  • WF Sharp Cheddar
  • Silken Tofu
  • Dates
  • 4 bunches fresh broccoli

I got ALL of that for the grand total of {drum roll please}……. $44.94!!!!

This is everything I needed (and a little extra) for the makings of our next 3 suppers and leftovers for Joseph’s lunches!

Tuesday night: Dark turkey burgers topped with a tomato mixture on top of whole wheat english muffins served with spicy steamed broccoli.

Wednesday night: Tacos (made with turkey burger). I already had most of these ingredients at home and only needed the meat.

Thursday night: Grilled Chicken Parmesan with whole wheat pasta.

Friday: I will use the leftover cheeses and veggies to make a Frittata (with the eggs that I already have).

I also got all of the ingredients to make Lemon Cream with Ana!

  • 12 oz silken tofu
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 8 pitted dates coarsely chopped
  • 1/8 tsp ground cardamom (which I didn’t have, and didn’t miss it in the taste)
  • fresh blueberries (to top)

I also added a drizzle of honey for sweetness

This stuff is so good! You would never know that it’s healthy! Top it with some fresh fruit and enjoy!

 

Leave a comment